Town of Paradise

AC - Dog License

Dog License Information


!!NEW!! Online Dog License !!NEW!!

  pdf Printable Dog License Form (151 KB)

The State of California requires that all dogs over 4 months of age be vaccinated against rabies and licensed.  If you live within the Town limits, your dog must be licensed with the Town of Paradise.

Failure to vaccinate and license your dog in a timely manner will result in the assessment of penalties and may result in citations from Animal Control and/or court appearances.

Dog(s) must be licensed within thirty (30) days of:

  • Turning 4 months old;
  • You acquiring the dog(s);
  • You bringing the dog(s) into Paradise

Licenses may be obtained;

  • Online, or
  • In person at Town Hall  - 8 A.M. - 5 P.M., Monday thru Thursday, or
  • In person at Paradise Animal Shelter -11: 00 A.M. - 2:30 P.M., Tuesday thru Saturday, or
  • by mail, Town Hall Clerk Department 5555 Skyway, Paradise, Ca 95969 or,
  • by mail, Paradise Animal Shelter 925 American Way, Paradise, Ca 95969

Licenses can not be issued without proof of current rabies vaccination.

A License can not be issued for a period that extends beyond the expiration date of the rabies certification

A license can not be issued for a period of less than 6 months.  If the current vaccination expires less than 6 months, a new rabies vaccination must be obtained before a license can be issued.

Dog License - Spayed/Neutered

  Puppy License (4 months to 1 year of age)  $15.00

1 Year


2 Year


3 Year


Dog License - Unaltered

1 Year


2 Year


3 Year


Other License Fees

Late Fee (Per Dog)


License Transfer


License Tag Replacement


5 Great Reasons to License your Dog

1.  Identification:This tag not only identifies your dog to shelter staff or law enforcement officers, it is also linked to a computer data base. This feature can get lost pets home faster!

2.  Proof of Rabies:The Town of Paradise dog license serves as proof of rabies vaccination in case of bite incidents. Butte County has the second highest rate of rabies in the state. Skunks are the primary carriers, and vaccinating your dog against rabies can help save his or her life.

3.  It’s the Law: The state of California requires all dogs over 4 months old MUST be licensed. Failure to do so can result in fines.

4.  Helpful Information:The database linked to dog license numbers helps shelter workers handle lost pets. If your dog is wearing its license the Shelter staff will know your pet’s name. This can help a lot when handling a lost, possibly injured pet.

5.  Supports the Town’s Animal Control:Dog license fees fund the Town’s Animal Control and Shelter. Animal Control is responsible for animal cruelty investigations, lost or injured pets, deceased wildlife, as well as operating the Animal Shelter and adopting animals. Your money goes directly to helping animals in Paradise.

You are here: Home Dog License

Contact us

Town Hall

5555 Skyway

Paradise, CA 95969

(530) 872-6291 phone

(530) 877-5059 fax

Monday - Thursday

8:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m.